Advisory Council

The Western U.P. STEM Advisory Council is made up of regional leaders in higher education, business, ISD administrators, educators, community partners as well as government agencies. Members work with the Regional Director to collaborate to boost STEM education and innovation.

Western Upper Peninsula Regional Director

Emily Geiger
Phone: (906)482-4250 ext. 188

Advisory Council Members

  • Karen ColbertParent and PhD Student, Computational Science & Engineering, Michigan Technological University
  • Jason MackVice President of Business Development, MTEC SmartZone- Technology Business Incubator
  • Judy AhoTalent Services, Upper Peninsula Michigan Works!
  • Ashley NevinsCareer & Technical Education Director, Gogebic-Ontonagon ISD
  • Jeff Ratcliffe Executive Director, Keweenaw Economic Development Alliance
  • Megan Hagen General Education Director, Gogebic-Ontonagon ISD
  • Steve KassDirector, REMC 1
  • Jackie HuntoonProvost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs, Michigan Technological University
  • Samantha Schutz Business Development Manager, OHM Advisors
  • David Kamrad Director of TRIO Pre-College Programs, Finlandia University
  • James RautiolaSuperintendent, Copper Country ISD
  • Corey SoumisDirector of Career & Technical Education, Copper Country ISD
  • Carla StromeGeneral Education Director, Copper Country ISD
  • Trisha ToddTalent Services Manager, Upper Peninsula Michigan Works!
  • Alan TulppoSuperintendent, Gogebic-Ontonagon ISD
  • Rachael PressleyRegional Planner, Western Upper Peninsula Planning and Development Region Commission
  • Glen Ackerman-BehrDirector of Workforce Development, Gogebic Community College
  • Debb BrunellChief Executive Officer, Upper Peninsula Michigan Works!
  • David LawrenceVice President for Global Campus and Continuing Education, Michigan Technological University
  • Jerry WuorenmaaExecutive Director, Western Upper Peninsula Planning and Development Region Commission
  • David RoweChief Executive Officer, MTEC Smartzone